Food Photo Friday

We’ve been loving the food this week! I think that there was only one thing that I really didn’t like but a lot of other people on the forums having been raving about it so I guess it’s just a matter of personal taste.  So far we have both been particularly impressed with the Chicken Noodle Soup and the Beef Stroganoff (and judging by the forums this one is the real crowd pleaser). I was pleasantly surprised by the Eggplant, Capsicum and Ricotta Wrap, I haven’t had ricotta many times before and I wasn’t really convinced that I liked it (even after Monday’s fruit toast breakfast) but I thought that the mild tastes of some of the ingredients were matched really well with the bite from the capsicum. Hugh doesn’t eat capsicum or eggplant so he substituted where needed but he particularly liked the Vietnamese Chicken Wraps.

I’ve compiled a few of my favourite food snaps from the week.

food5 (1 of 1)This was our fridge on Sunday night! Packed full of good food; we chopped, grated, poached, shredded and grilled everything for wraps and made enough chicken soup for the week. Those little dishes are our Panna Cottas (dairy snacks) which were really nice actually, not as creamy/milky as regular Panna Cotta (as can be expected) but still yummy.

food4 (1 of 1)

food5 (1 of 1)-2

food5 (1 of 1)-6

food5 (1 of 1)-4This was my “They want me to eat how many beans?!” moment.

food3 (1 of 1)

food2 (1 of 1)

On another note, I thought I knew how to boil eggs but apparently not! I have tried three times this week to make the yolks nice and runny but they have always be that little bit over. Ah well, still delicious and I’ve always got next week (or the next 11… or the rest of my life) to figure it out.

What have your favourite meals been this week?

Least favourite?

Did you struggle with anything?

~ ediblesandEmily

8 thoughts on “Food Photo Friday

  1. Hi Emily

    I used the customise tool a lot but I enjoyed having a lot of eggs this week, with vegemite as well – a nice suprise. I don’t have an egg cup so after the second morning I just poached them. Same effect.

    I might make the Beef Stroganoff tonight, and am looking forward to the Pie and Mushy Pies on Sunday night

    x

    • We tried to stick to the menu plan as much as possible for the first week just to get in to the swing of things but for next week we have used the customise tool to move a couple of things around. I do love poached eggs but I was hoping to dip my soldiers in a gooey, boiled egg.

      The Beef Stroganoff is pretty good, you get a very generous portion size, and the pasta and beans make it really hearty and satisfying. If anything I did find it a little bit bland but it was good with a couple of shakes of salt. Did you end up making it?

      I’m looking forward to the pies as well (and Hugh can’t wait to have baked beans in the morning).

  2. You have inspired me to definitely have a cook up tomorrow!! Your fridge look amazing!! .. Will post a pic of mine tomorrow night!

    • Yay!! It has helped so much to have bits and pieces ready in the fridge. The chicken soup was completely prepared but then when it came time to make wraps I could just pop those containers out, assemble my wraps and have my lunch!

      I can’t wait to see how you go!

    • That’s great to hear; having a convenient breakfast option is so good. I think I had 5 or so different breakfasts this week but for next week we have switched it to just two options to make things a little easier.

  3. A trick my Mum always taught me with boiling eggs is to put straight into cold water and then as soon as the water starts to boil, leave it for 4 minutes and then you have your perfect egg!

Leave a Reply

