Don’t Worry, Get Appy!

Just jumping on for a short post tonight. I had an appointment with one of the counselors at my university this afternoon to talk through some anxiety that I have been having. It turns out that I don’t have any serious psychological issues, which is always good to know. However, I have some social anxiety, which is apparently a result of having pretty much the same thoughts that everyone has (who knew?) but letting them hang around and thinking about them too much.

It would appear that I have been engaging in a fair amount of negative self talk (unrelated to the 12WBT).

So I have been set my own personal challenge for the next three weeks. The counselor I talked to wants me to write down my thoughts; just a few a day, anything that I think is significant, even positive ones. I’m a little bit unsure how it’s going to work because I don’t know how to think about things and then go “oh I thought about something! I had better write it down!” but I like to write and I talk to Hugh about pretty much everything so he is going to help me out with it too. He told me that if I say something negative or positive that he thinks is worth it he will let me know…

“I like toast.”
“Write it down!”

Additionally, I was given some information sheets on Stress Management the other day at uni because of exams; one of them was titled, “Don’t Worry, Get Appy!” and had a list of free apps for dealing with stress. I have had a look at them and thought that I would share the ones that I really like:

“Smiling Mind” and “Moodlytics”. Smiling Mind is a simple Mindfulness Meditation app that has weekly and daily sessions, allows you to choose meditations from 7  to 45 minutes in length, and records how many minutes you have spent meditating.

Moodlytics is a fun little app that tracks your moods, and allows you to build a visual profile of your mood and set goals for happiness. I particularly love the idea behind this one, it’s almost the same as an app that tracks your calories but instead it tracks your moods and gives you a chance to reflect on them.

Both have been rated very highly on iTunes. Moodlytics is also available on Android.

I’m glad that I have had an opportunity to talk through some thoughts, I really want to be healthier now, both for my body and for my mind. I actually mentioned the program to the counselor and told her that being able to encourage other people has had a good effect on me, so thank you for that.

I hope that you have all been having a good week.

~ energyandEmily

8 thoughts on “Don’t Worry, Get Appy!

  1. Hi Emily, thanks so much for sharing this post, I really admire your honesty. Our thoughts have play a huge role in how we see ourselves and therefore on our choices and actions. You are so wise to talk with someone and learn some strategies around them (Apps for tracking our moods – who knew?). You have been such a fantastic source of encouragement and support to me so please know I am cheering you on and if I can be any help at all please just holler. You (and your wonderful blog) are an inspiration. Take care x

  2. Hi Emily, thanks for sharing this, it can be such a personal thing to share what going on in our minds, but helpful to get it out and to encourage others who might be going through the same things. It’s amazing just what an effect anxiety and self talk and over thinking things can have on us, not just mental health but physical and emotional too. Good on you for seeking help and good luck in the next few weeks working through it. Hopefully the blogging helps too!! Keep at it.

    • Thank you for your kind comments 🙂 There’s a quote that I really love, “All that we are is the result of what we have thought.” and it’s true even though sometimes it doesn’t feel like we have control over our own thoughts.

  3. Hey Emily, I’m a ‘negative self talker’ from WAY BACK!!! It’s one of my biggest life challenges and something I continue to live with. I’ve had counselling for it (as part of bigger issues) and for me it’s called ‘fusion’. I fuse my thoughts with reality – therefore, what I think, I believe. BIG PROBLEM! My counsellor taught me to ‘thank my mind’ for my thoughts so I could separate them from reality. So when I think something, I literally say “thank you mind for that thought”. It helps me to DEFINE it as a thought and that’s all it is – words going through my brain, not the reality of life. There’s a great line in a book I have that says along the lines of “if you say to yourself, ‘I’m a banana’, you don’t believe THAT, so why do you believe your other thoughts?”. An interesting journey for you and one I’m sure you will come through. You are such a great encourager on the 12WBT forums and I REALLY enjoy reading your blog. You’re a cool chick 🙂

  4. Great post. Not the same issue, but I grew up surrounded by negativity, and a couple of years ago it finally dawned on me that I could have friendships that didn’t involve gossip. It was life changing, it made me such a happier person not talking shit and negativity about everyone all the time.

    My point… good job!

Leave a Reply

