The Week That Wasn’t

Exams are officially over and The Week That Wasn’t is almost at a close.

This week hasn’t been so great for me, 12WBT-wise. I just wanted to put it out there.

I know that I’m not the only person on the 12WBT who has been pressed for time, or studying, but this week I just couldn’t find the time to exercise every day. I have been stressed and tired, and trying to make up for lost days by doing two sessions on other days has just left me feeling drained.

Also, on Wednesday night, Hugh’s close family friend was in town; a lady with whom I get along really well and someone that we haven’t seen in almost a year. We ended up booking a Chinese restaurant in China Town for the three of us; I wasn’t even planning to attempt to calculate every calorie at dinner because of how impossible that would have been. I decided that I would simply do my best to make good decisions and I had a very light-on day calorie-wise. I wasn’t as restrained as I have been but I was much more mindful than I would have been prior to starting the 12WBT. I did end up having a couple of glasses of red wine as well as sharing a dessert. The food was delicious.

We were invited out again the next night; Hugh went along but I declined in favour of study and sensible food choices.

So I certainly haven’t “fallen off” any bandwagons this week; I’m feeling okay, just a little bit off my game. I need to stop thinking about what other people are defining as “good” or “bad” (as per Michelle’s latest video) and trust my decisions when I know that I have made them for a reason.

Anyhow, Beef, Pumpkin and Prune Tagine is on the stove, we have a day of food preparation planned for Sunday and next week I’m on holidays so there are no excuses. Oh! and I have fresh, dinosaur-popped popcorn to take to the movies tonight to see Gatsby. Which reminds me that I haven’t followed curfew this week either but I fully intend on carrying this week’s challenge over to Week Six.

My plans for the next few weeks are as follows:

  • Read as many non-text-book books as possible (including finishing ‘Lady in the Lake’ and ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’).
  • Cook lots of things and try lots of new recipes.
  • Take lots of photos!
  • Follow the 12WBT program to a tee.
  • Have a Doctor Who and a Grey’s Anatomy marathon.
  • Compile my Pen Pal gift.
  • Check out the Bikram Yoga studio down the road some time.
  • Set up a herb garden.

Hugh and I are also thinking about driving down to Sydney to stay over a weekend, and I will be helping my mum out at work a bit but what else can I get up to?

Any ideas? Do you have any hobbies?

Can you recommend any books to me?

~ energyandEmily

8 thoughts on “The Week That Wasn’t

  1. Ups and downs, peaks and troughs, that’s what it’s all about. And celebrations and entertainment are all a part of life. Sometimes we’re thrown into situations where you have to make choices, and you probably did better than you think. Then we make up for it the next couple of days, so it all weighs out. I’ve worked out now that’s a thing called LIFE. 😉

    Lucky girl being on holidays. I always love to make a list of what I want to do when I am off work, even sometimes of a long weekend. I’m such a list girl, I get so much satisfaction in crossing things off. I have an amazing 6 week break from work coming up late November to early December where part of that time I’ll be going overseas, so I’m hanging out till then. THEN there’ll be a mega list compiled to cross off!

    As for hobbies, I am such a homebody, I like nothing more than to knit, I can’t seem to sit still and do nothing, and find watching a TV a complete waste of time if I don’t have a pair of needles in my hand. The other passion I have is memory keeping/scrapbooking. I do digital scrapbooking (all done through photoshop) and absolutely adore it. No mess, no glue, no paper everywhere, I love the cleanness of doing it through the computer and then printing it into books later. Here’s my gallery if you want to take a squiz so you can see what I’m talking about:

    http://www.designerdigitals.com/digital-scrapbooking/ideas/showgallery.php?cat=500&ppuser=1551

    Enjoy your time off.

    • You’re right! and I realise that now more than I did before. This is a lifestyle change and there are bound to be good and bad days/weeks, we just have to pick ourselves up and keep moving forward.

      Lists are basically the best thing ever 🙂 I have actually made up a little calendar with a bunch of different things that are already planned and then other things that I want to get up to. It should be a bit of fun. 6 weeks off will be so great for you! Where abouts are you going overseas?

      I love that you’re a homebody. I do like to have some TV days (marathons mentioned above) but it would feel like a waste if I spent my entire holidays on the couch. Also your scrapbook looks so good! and you’re right, it would save so much mess but you still get a really nice end product. I especially LOVE the Mother’s Day Classic and JFDI ones!!

      Thank you!

  2. Sounds like a similar week to mine – no major ‘breakdowns’ but just not smashing the 12wbt like previously. As Carol said, that’s life – we’re consistently making good choices and even just being aware that a meal at a Chinese restaurant is a treat and not a regularity is a major step in the journey. Well done 🙂
    How did you like the tagine? I loved it! And Gatsby?
    DW marathon for sure – what did you think of the S7 finale? I have been a bit underwhelmed with DW lately… I loved episodes like Blink, The Family of Blood, The Girl in the Fireplace. so basically Moffatt-written ones 😛 I don’t enjoy how every new character seems to come with a mysterious backstory these days, or miraculously everything turns out fine… Remember when Nine was so excited that ‘Just this once, everybody lives!’?
    Anyhow..
    Gardening is a great thing to do for the holidays, I adore my pot plant herb garden and am seriously considering a proper vege garden soon. I also would love chooks but not sure if I can commit…
    I am reading Lilian’s Story by Kate Grenville at the moment and really enjoying it.
    Do you have a bike? You can spend hours cycling at a leisurely pace, dropping in at coffee shops and reading in the park along the way. Take some snacks and make a day of it. It’s one of my favourite things to do.
    I also dream of learning to crochet, so maybe that’s something you can try. My Grandma tried to teach me once but got impatient with my lack of dexterity… I’m quite uncoordinated.

    • Let’s both have an amazing Week Six, okay?
      I loved the tagine, I actually had it without rice on the first night but then we stored the leftovers with rice and the liquid was all soaked up, which was a little bit sad but still really, really tasty. The addition of prunes is genius.
      Neither of us had actually read The Great Gatsby and had no idea what to expect. I think I would like to give it a read now though. I thought that the costumes, etc were fantastic but I felt a little bit let down by the story. I think it probably needed that extra background knowledge from the book?
      Sadly, I’ve been underwhelmed by DW lately as well. I really wish that Matt Smith had had a chance to work with better scripts. Moffat was much better at writing single or double episodes but not entire story arcs. I’m just not excited anymore. Clara has been what River was when she was first introduced and then it was like “huzzah! This is who River is! Let’s all forget she ever existed now!” I don’t know… I just have a lot of DW feels.
      I’m really looking forward to having a herb garden. My dream is to one day have a vege/fruit patch when we own a place 🙂
      I actually don’t have a bike (*cough* I never learnt how to ride one *cough*) but that sounds like the best way to spend a lazy day 🙂
      My grandma tried to teach me to knit once…I managed about 10cm of a scarf and then she knitted the rest. Oh dear.

  3. Enjoy the chance to catch your breath after such a busy time. Maybe visit a library and stock up on ‘health’ or photography magazines for some inspiration? Have a cook up! Have a sleep in! Maybe try a new form of exercise to see if you like it? Whatever you chose to do, I hope you enjoy your time and get a chance to reflect on what an awesome job you are doing at juggling everything.

    • You’ve actually just reminded me that the Lifeline Bookfest will be on again soon (on the Gold Coast), I will definitely be on the look out for some inspiration! Thank you 🙂

  4. Wow, nice work finishing those exams, and maintaining some sort of progress on 12wbt. Good on you for not breaking down completely and falling off the bandwagon. Enjoy your holidays, how long have you got off?? Definitely give bikram a go, it’s tough but feels great after. Also, if you need another tv series to get through give the west wing a go?? Enjoy Sydney if you get down here.

    • Thank you! I think that Week Six will be much better. I have five weeks off from uni but I will be doing some work with my mum and starting to read through my new text-books in the last two weeks. Also I think I will definitely give bikram a go, I’ve heard lots of good things, and I will look up the West Wing, thanks!

      We have locked in Sydney, it should be fun trying to get our exercises in while we’re driving/in a different place.

Leave a Reply

