This Girl is on Fire

“It had long since come to my attention that people of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.”

*

We had planned to go for our Monday running session when Hugh got home from work tonight, which would have been about 10.30 (I know, I’m no good with this curfew thing). However, at about 9.30 I was sitting at my computer reading through quotes on Pinterest (being super productive, basically), not all of which were typically inspirational but some were quite thought-provoking, and suddenly I had this itch. I just wanted to go for that run right then and there, I wanted to get my week started, and I felt like proving something to myself.

I thought that I would be able to run to where Hugh parks his car for work and give him a nice surprise; I knew that he would be happy as he really dislikes running. Also I figured that it was still early enough to be fairly safe running on my own along main roads.

I headed out with music streaming from my phone, and it was cold and crisp and absolutely exhilarating!

At one point I was running and listening to “Girl On Fire” and I was her; I was just a girl and I was on fire.

Hugh called me to let me know that he had finished work just as I was finishing my session, 4km of running/walking. He was very surprised but also really proud, I finished off my sprints while he was walking to the carpark, and he sent me a text, “You’re incredible!”

And I felt it.

~ energyandEmily

18 thoughts on “This Girl is on Fire

  1. Great work Emily! I love the feeling of achievement like that. And amazing how a great song can move us along just that bit further or faster. Good luck for week 6, and your holidays!!

  2. Good one Emily. I know that feeling with planning not to exercise and then just feeling like it. It’s a totally cool feeling to know that your body is wanting it!
    PS – thanks for the note on my font. Have been writing my blogs on the fly and then copy pasting them so this one just went a bit crazy!

  3. Fantastic! Also your choice of music is a winner. I think music can make or break a run and the right tunes can keep you moving for ages.
    Your other half deserves a medal for being such a supportive partner and all round nice guy. He’s right you are incredible!

    • Thank you for all of your kind comments!! I didn’t have a lot of love for the song originally but it really gets me in the mood when I’m exercising. Lots of lady-power feels. Also he’s a good’un 🙂

    • I’ve been learning to love it 🙂 It has been nice in the cold night-time weather because when you’re getting all sweaty there’s still this lovely crispness in the air.

  4. You are on fire! And your Hugh sounds pretty incredible too, what a lovely text. I love that he’s with you through all of your adventures 🙂

  5. That is fantastic. Love that you did this. And yes, when it’s bracing and invigorating, it feels like your whole body is alive. And on fire!!! Hugh is a lucky man, sounds like you are both lucky.

  6. Pingback: This Chick’s Week Six | energyandEmily

  7. Hey that song came on at the gym yesterday and I thought of you running!! It also got me through some more tricep dips… 550 down, many more to go though.

Leave a Reply

