I’m Choosing My “Hard”

I have been fearing that my old habits will return. I think the biggest trigger for this is that I feel like I’ve been here before; as previously mentioned, I have worked on my body and fitness for longer periods than 12 weeks in the past and have then decided, “I feel okay now, that’s enough.” This time though, I feel like Michelle really has “given me the tools” to lead an active, healthy and informed life. I don’t want to go back to being unfit, unhealthy and unhappy, I’m sick of constantly yo-yoing and hating myself. I love feeling strong and I don’t feel as though I am deprived of the things that I want.

I have been fearing that my old habits will return, and I’m not perfect, but with every day I feel like I’m shifting my thinking and solidifying this new lifestyle.

In her most recent Live Chat Michele answered a question from a fellow 12WBTer, “Is there ever a point where eating well and exercising becomes ‘easy’?” I’m not going to go into Michelle’s reply, if you haven’t watched the video you should give it a look-see. However, a key quote for me was, “Is there ever a point that life becomes easy?”

This is actually something that I have been thinking about a bit lately.

The idea of “hard”.

I’m reminded of a quote that I read a little while ago while I was putting together my inspiration board for the first Weekly Challenge:

“Losing weight is hard,
Maintaining weight is hard,
Staying fat is hard;

Choose your hard.”

It wasn’t my favourite quote at the time but it resonated with me.

It was hard to be me six weeks ago, not liking my body and always feeling insecure, hiding behind baggy clothes and hoping that no one looked at me. It’s hard now too; I get hungry, sore, tired, and this whole 12WBT gig takes a lot of effort but I swear that it is worth every inch of it.

I know that I always make a big deal about the times when I do my workout sessions alone, and I know that most of you do them alone every day. I admire you all so much for that. You must be so strong. I always talk about my solo sessions because that’s when I really notice just how strong I am getting, both physically and mentally. I was doing my SSS alone on Saturday just passed and I remember that I was doing the walking lunges (hands in the air) and my legs were hurting so much but I was pushing through it and I realised…

I’ve chosen my hard.

~ energyandEmily

12 thoughts on “I’m Choosing My “Hard”

  1. This is a great post Emily, from your heart and speaks the truth. We all have to choose our path in life, it is never easy! And you come to enjoy the pain and agony exercising can bring.

  2. Right there with you sister!! Can I steal that quote, I love it!! Choosing the hard path rather than the easy one, but soo much more worthwhile in the end. Just yesterday I was thinking about what if bad habits returned, and it was then that I decided to keep going with 12wbt even after I get to my goal weight, it has just been so beneficial for my health – physically, mentally, emotionally etc.

    • Definitely! It seems like it would be easier to just sit around and eat what you want, whenever you want, but it becomes just as hard to live life like that in a lot of ways that aren’t so obvious to start with. I will be continuing on the 12WBT with you 🙂 and I’m glad that you have found so many benefits from the program as well!

  3. Love that quote :-)…..
    People have been asking me this whole journey..”is it hard?”…my response can now be – “I chose my hard!”.lol…{and honestly, it was harder before 12wbt because I had no path to follow, now I am creating my own path!!!}

    • I think Michelle also says something along the lines of, “Anything worth having is never easy,” I think that you should definitely bust that one out next time. I’m glad that you’re feeling so good!

  4. Jeepers in my headspace much. I think you have made a winner choice on your hard. In the long run it will be so worth it!
    Your right though, everything is hard so it’s time to suck it up and pick my hard!

  5. So perfectly put. I’m over a year down the track and I tell you, it’s still hard. I think it’s going to be a battle every day of my life. But I like how I feel right now, the feeling does keep getting better and better, and you just hope when you are at that crossroads that you take the high road and don’t succumb. We have the tools we just have to continue to use them.

  6. I love that quote. It really resonates with me right now too. I totally get where you are at because I’m at the same point – afraid of the old habits coming back but also afraid of the hard work that’s got to continue and whether I can keep it up and make it part of my life. And you are right – it is SOOO worth it.

Leave a Reply

