Saturday @ the Markets

I really like going to fruit and vegetable markets. Hugh and I have been going to the Brisbane MarketPlace Rocklea for quite a while now but every now and then we will miss a week, and then maybe two weeks, and then three, and so on. I have made it a goal for us to go to the markets every Saturday while on the 12WBT.  I would like to share my market-going experience because I have noticed that a lot of people on the forums have been talking about their surprise at the high cost of their 12WBT grocery bill and I know that going to the markets has always helped us to keep our food costs down.  I know that many people might not be able to go to their local markets, or they might not even have local markets but I’d like to just give an insight into what they’re about and if you do live near some I might be able persuade you to check them out.

So this morning, armed with three large, cloth, grocery bags, my boyfriend, my 12WBT shopping list, a pen, and my rather conspicuous camera… I went shopping.

Click on any of the pics to see more detail and, if you’re lucky, a short description.

The last picture in the gallery is our loot for the morning, consisting of the majority of our fruit and vegetables for the coming 12WBT week, totaling $44 exactly (not including the coffees). Not too shabby! One thing we have noticed is that our mixed lettuce from the supermarket lasts a bit longer so we do pick that up when we go there.

There are a lot of other stalls as well, some with bakery items, some with Greek yogurt, knitted things, and even dog chewables (the things you actually want them to chew, I mean). The coffee shop that I have a photo of up there does nice coffee and is in the “food-court area” of the markets. There isn’t much there to eat that  is healthy though, with German sausages (which Hugh really likes) and deep fried bits and pieces so I didn’t take any pictures of those shops.

Lastly, in my experience people tend to think that going to the fruit and veg markets means waking up at some ungodly hour in the morning but a lot of markets will close as late as 1pm. We usually like to go around 9 but this morning we ended up getting there at more like 11.

I hope that you  have enjoyed my little snapshot of the Rocklea markets and I hope that maybe I’ve convinced you to give your local markets a visit.

Over the next 12 weeks I’m hoping to go to as many of the markets around the greater Brisbane area as I (we) can and try to give a little overview of each one. We haven’t been to all of them ourselves so it will be a good learning experience for us as well.

Do you already go to your local markets?

Do you have any other cost saving tips?

~ experiencesandEmily

18 thoughts on “Saturday @ the Markets

  1. Found the right place to comment – D’oh! Loved reading about the markets and you’ve inspired me to get to our farmers’ market which is every fortnight. Thanks. My main cost saving tip is the bulk cook up, then freezing the meals in individual portion sizes as there’s no waste. I have blogged about it but not sure how to do the link thing using my iPad. Clearly, I have a lot to learn! Have a great week 2, I look forward to reading all about it.

  2. All those fruit and veggies look so fresh and yummy! I live in a small town on the outskirts of Sydney and there are lots of growers’ markets and stores. I really like supporting local businesses and their products are much cheaper and of better quality than the supermarket. I went to a “real” butcher yesterday. Got my meat in a brown paper bag and everything haha! Good luck for week 2 🙂

    • I haven’t been to the local butcher yet but I really should, meat is the most expensive thing that we get from the supermarket now. Thank you! Best wishes to you too 🙂

  3. That looks great, so sad I work a Sunday morning so miss most of the market action!
    I do pre-cook a lot of meals though, as I run out of time otherwise 🙂

  4. I agree that markets are the way to go for cheaper fresh as fresh produce. And it helps local growers too. I LOVE your photos. Makes me want to go and eat salad!

    • That’s a great idea! Fresh herbs are so good. I’ve also heard that you can cut the ends off spring onions or celery and just stick them in a pot and they will grow. Would be a fun experiment!

  5. I used to love going to Melbourne Markets when I used to live there, but now we live in Sydney and the local markets are much too far away and overcrowded. 😦 I am sure there would be some small local ones, but I just dont know where. Your photos look gorgeous!

  6. Oh how i miss Brisbane!
    I had to start my own garden.
    So far i have large tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, watermelon, leek, spring onion, celery and 3 lychee plants growing.
    I am planning of creating a small nursery and growing EVERYTHING especially herbs.
    I have to get to Cairns first, because Weipa only sells a few things 🙂

    • Oh my gosh! That sounds divine. The first thing I’m going to do when we have our own house is plant vegetables and herbs. Do you think you will have time to make the trip soon? I would love to see pictures of your nursery once it’s set up!

  7. Pingback: Week Three and Me | energyandEmily

Leave a comment